Anyone using S-04?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone using S-04?

Our brewpub has switched from Wyeast 1272 to Fermentis S-04 for ease of handling. The flavors and characteristics are very good for us. It flocculates very well with minimal aging, and the flavor is mild and works well into our recipes. The convenience of dried yeast is great. We use this for our Stout, Brown, IPA, Irish Red, Blonde, and a range of specialties including a few American-style wheat beers flavored with fruit.

Has anyone else switched to this yeast?

Just used it and I'm switching now.

Comment

Fermentis S-04

I've been using it for about three years now. Never going to switch. Versitile, broad ferm temp tolerance, very little diacetyl, some esters if you try hard. It doesn't overattenuate my mild ale which finishes at 3%abv. It also agressively attacks my 21P stout and takes it to 7.5%abv. I use it for every ale.

Comment

Yep

we use it for Pale Ale, Irish Red and Stout. Getting about 77-80% attenuation, flocs well and very mild esters.

Comment

S-04

I'm been using S-04 for a long time and i really dig it.....consistent, reliable, and the flavours are great......

Tariq (Big Ridge Brewery)
          Tariq Khan (Brewer/Distiller)

Yaletown Brewing and Distilling Co.
          Vancouver, B.C.
          Canada

Comment

Is anyone re-using it? I pitched (homebrew) on it and had a diacetyl bomb, even after 3 weeks. fermented out quick, but never cleaned up after itself.

Comment

Yum yum yum. I've made great bitters and milds with it.

Comment

Originally posted by twoodward15
                Is anyone re-using it? I pitched (homebrew) on it and had a diacetyl bomb, even after 3 weeks. fermented out quick, but never cleaned up after itself.
                strange...we re-pitch often and never experienced that

Comment

vs US05?

How do you like it vs. US05? I find many of the same comments posted above apply to it as well.

Comment