Lemon Grass Usage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lemon Grass Usage

I was thinking about adding lemon grass to a summer ale and I have a few questions since I have never used it before. How much would you recommend using? When would you add it? And, would you add it with any other spices, I was thinking with some bitter orange peel?

I would like to thank all of you out there in forum land for your responses up front.

Sincerely,

Jim Lieb
    Rocky River Brewing Co.

I judged a Lemon Grass and Lime beer in the GABF a couple of years ago that was pretty good.

Not sure how they added the lime though.
    -Lyle C. Brown
    Brewer
    Camelot Brewing Co.

Comment

I am making a beer with lemon myrtle, ginger, lime besides some other special ingredience and for me works an alcohol infusion best.

You take a certain amount of lemon grass ( 0,8 pound) and cover it with some pure ethanol ( 1-2 liter). I like to dilute the ethanol to about 28-35 %. And let it sit for some time before you recover the infusion.

Then you can play around by adding that infusion to your finished beer. To get just the level of intensity you looking for.

I personelly like to stick to similar flavors when using a herb. So in your case I would try lemon balm or lemon myrtle even lime will for work fine i think. And why not lemon peel? Other possibility is to pair it with a certain hop and its aroma, maybe Cascade or Chinook.

good luck
      Christoph

"How much beer is in German intelligence !" - Friedrich Nietzsche

Comment

When I have homebrewed with lemongrass I have added it with 5 min left in the boil. So the whirlpool seems like a good time/method to me.

FreeState in Lawrence, KS and Square One in St. Louis, MO both make lemongrass beers, you could check with them.
        Fighting ignorance and apathy since 2004.

Comment