Plate and Frame question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Plate and Frame question

I am pretty new to the plate and frame world. I am using a Della Toffola 40x40.

I got HS1600 filter pads for it and am trying only to make a bright beer. We are a brewpub and want the beers clear. I seem to be having really slow filter runs with this set-up. Have I gone too fine on my filters? Should I step up a little? All I want to do is filter the yeast out.

Mike
    Mike Pensinger
    General Manager/Brewmaster
    Parkway Brewing Company
    Salem, VA

I use 25 sheets of hs2000 with good results in a 14 bbl brewpub, 56 yeast with good very clear results (45 min filters). The 1500s may be a bit fine.

Comment

Originally posted by beermkr
      I am pretty new to the plate and frame world. I am using a Della Toffola 40x40.

I got HS1600 filter pads for it and am trying only to make a bright beer. We are a brewpub and want the beers clear. I seem to be having really slow filter runs with this set-up. Have I gone too fine on my filters? Should I step up a little? All I want to do is filter the yeast out.

Mike
      Hi Mike,
      Boy oh boy, have I been there!