Brewing & Septic

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brewing & Septic

Is there anybody out there that's had any experience with septic systems used by small scale breweries? Are holding tanks used? How does one scale a system for the size needed? Is it even feasible to brew (say a 10bbl / 1000bbl annual) with septic to handle the waste? Thanks for any input.

Septic tanks for breweries

Yes, with reasonable intelligence a septic system is fine. I have been using one for 12 years. Your county may want an engineer to design it or at least stamp your design. I just moved and built a new system and have old tanks available. First, you must screen everything that goes down the drain (last spent grain crumbs, etc) so as not to overwork the system. Balance your acid and alkali cleaners. Don't use chlorine,- peracetic is perfect. Try to limit the yeast going down the drain as much as possible and dispose of yeast separately. (Find some gardeners who want compost)
    The septic tanks are critical. The most important part of the system for a brewery is to settle out the yeast. You will need enough linear distance for the yeast to fall out of suspension before exiting the tanks. Plan on enough septic tanks for 3 to 5 day residence time. You will need more septic tanks than normal systems, but your leach field is normal based on gallons per day.

Comment

I hope that you are at a stage where you have some ability to influence the design of effluent handling within the brewery (ie: drain location, diversion to variable waste streams, etc...) I agree with Moonlight about screening your effluent streams. We ran our combined waste streams (brewery, not brewpub) through a small parabolic screen (www.ipec-screens.com) which made collecting and disposing of anything over 2mm easy to do.