Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Looking to be an intern in a couple years, what should I do now?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking to be an intern in a couple years, what should I do now?

Im a 19 year old freshman at the University of South Carolina Honors College looking to get into the beer industry after I graduate. Currently I am prepping a field to receive 160 hop rhizomes in the spring in connection with a senior thesis project I have planned. I hope to plant these hops and about a quarter acre of barley, malt my own barley, and find a microbrewery who will allow me to and assist me in making a beer completely from ingredients grown and processed by me, on my farm.

I would really love input on how to go about approaching breweries about my project.

Also, I would love to get an internship or job at a brewery right after I graduate. Is there anything I can do now to make myself a more attractive candidate, considering that it will be illegal for me to actually work in a brewery until I am 21 (junior year) in South Carolina? My major is business. I might pick up a minor in either chemistry or biology. I am also considering finding a chemistry teacher to do an independent study under where I basically do a self-paced course in brewing (buy the text book and go through the work, with the teacher evaluating my project)

Sadly transferring to a school that has a brewing program is not really an option as I am tied to my hop farm until at least senior year.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Read everything you can. Homebrew if you choose. You need not be 21 to work in a brewery in CA, perhaps not where you are either. Take basic chemistry. Take basic microbiology. Taste beers and learn the difference ("don't swallow" until you are 21). Go talk to local breweries of good reputation about your hop project.