Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What am I doing wrong?

All right, here's the deal...

I'm having big trouble getting more than 10 barrels across our 10 square meter Velo without blinding the thing. I've tried DE (Pre-coat with cellulose, follow with FW14 and then FW12) which blinds generally in 7 barrels, and Perlite (cellulose plus perlite pre-coat, I'm not sure about the grade) which takes about 15 barrels to blind.

Things to note: there are two screens in the main body of the filter that are warped. They were warped when I started playing with this thing, but my filtration has taken a strong downward turn with DE and is starting to jam up on the Perlite.

I've found that over-dosing has been an issue, but I don't think that I'm pushing too much into the body feed any more. So, what the hell is going on? Turbidity is variable, and there is of course a correlation between the turbidity on the inlet side and rapid pressure builds.

I'm pre-coating at 100-110 hL/hr, with 0 bars pressure (I've done it with DE at 0.5 bars and 60 hL/hr during the pre-coat with similar results), at the Velo-recommended level of 5 kg cellulose and 15 kg DE, but I've done less (20% by weight) and more (5% by weight). Even after taking notes, I'm not seeing any trends in the data, and I think that I'm going to have to go after the thing with a hammer just to keep my sanity.

If anybody has any leads, please let me know.

Cheers,
    Bill

Have you checked the filterability of your beer? The warped plate could cause a problem but a 10 sqm filter should be able to for 10bbl very comfortably

Comment

I guess the first question is ' Has anything changed recently?' (new yeast, new tanks, new sprayballs, new filter)

Was your current regime working for you before?

Have you caustic/acid washed your filter recently?

The one thing I would suggest is varying your speed/pressure between precoats to to ensure each precoat is firmly packed on the last before proceeding.