Fermentation tank cleaning

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fermentation tank cleaning

I recently started brewing at a brewery where the cleaning regimen lapsed a bit, and now I have some 10 BBL unitanks with crud buildup under the manway door (i can feel it is rough, but cant see it). So my question is, what is the best way way to clean these tanks? I currently have chlorinated caustic and a chlorine-acid based sanitizer in the brewery.

chlorine based cleaners

First thing I'd do is get rid of the chlorine based anything. Chlorine has the potential to be highly destructive to stainless steel. A little elbow grease should take care of the dried crud. Use a mild detergent and a scrub pad. You may have to scrub a little and let the crud soften a little and scrub some more until it's gone. Manway shadows are nigh on impossible to clean by CIP because they don't get coverage by either the sprayball or the flow of cleaners down the sidewalls. They should be cleaned by hand before AND after CIP. Bits of the the fermentation ring will wash down into the shadow during CIP and, if you don't rinse it off by hand, it tends to stay there and dry into exactly the kind of crud you're dealing with now. If it's not possible to get a step ladder and poke your head inside to confirm that it's clean, use a mirror or even a digital camera to get a view under the manway before you sanitize the tank (with a non chlorinated sanitizer). Also look at any other potential shadows that can harbor soils such as tank sidewall penetrations for sample valves, especially if any of those penetrations have a depth greater than 3x the diameter of the penetration. i.e. if you have a 1.5" port that extends more than 4.5" from the wall of the tank, it is unlikely to be reliably cleaned by CIP and will require some form of manual cleaning.
    Steve Bradt
    Regional Sales Manager
    Micro-Matic Packaging Division
    Eastern United States and Canada
    sbradt@micro-matic.com