Nano for R&D or go for 15 bbl?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nano for R&D or go for 15 bbl?

So here i am, and i have some wealthier family and family friends that have approached me to open a brewery. At first, I was planning on a 15 bbl production brewery with a strong emphasis on the tasting room. We are in Southern California and there are no microbreweries in our metropolitan area. After our last meeting, the investors presented the idea of starting a nano brewery (i'm guessing 2 bbl) to do Research and Development - both with recipes and market.

I've been homebrewing for about 2 years, and while I'm confident in my approach to beer recipes and my salesmanship, I don't have any really practical brewing industry experience. I have a current, albeit inconsistent job that pays the bills, so this would be done after hours and weekends, and I'd be looking to get another more experienced brewer involved.

My question is: should I push for us to open production brewery and develop the beer recipes before we open and as we go OR should I spend a year or so R&D'ing recipes and the market we are going for, potentially losing out on an untapped market?

(This is my first post - so if there's something I'm missing, let me know.)

Thank you all.

Vernair,

A 2bbl system may be be able to break even if you're planning for tap room only sales, whereas a 15bbl system would work for distribution. Very different business models... and they likely require two different levels of staffing.

Definitely get practical experience before getting in over your head -- homebrewing and brewing have some similarities, but are not at all the same. You may wish to volunteer at a local(ish) brewery, or take some classes and get practical experience as part of that. For example, there's a brewery in Colorado that hosts immersive classes to cover both the brewing and business sides of the industry: