Chiller system question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chiller system question

I am new to the pro brewing scene and im setting up all of the equipment I can by myself. My chiller system has the chiller unit, a circulation pump, and a ice water pump. It was designed to have a 10bbl glycol storage tank but I don't want to set it up as such because of the cost of glycol and the fact that it is just a waste of cooling to cool that much glycol for storage. I would like to convert the 10bbl glycol storage tank into a cold liquor tank by using a plate heat exchanger hooked up to the glycol loop. I will use the ice water pump to move the cold water through the heat exchanger and the glycol circulation pump to move the glycol through the other half of the exchanger. My question is can this be done? I guess the system was designed to be a open system because of the open glycol reserve tank? Can I make this a closed loop system and if so what do I need to do to make it work? Will I have to have a reserve tank and if so what size and where can I get it from? Any take on this will be greatly appreciated!
    Ben Pugh
    Meddlesome Brewing Company
    Memphis, TN

Eclectic Ales
    Memphis, Tn

Just so everybody knows I have a 3hp chiller with three 5bbl jacketed fermenters and I want to cool a 10bbl cold liquor tank too. Hope this info helps out some.
    Ben Pugh
    Memphis, TN

Eclectic Ales
    Memphis, Tn

Comment

Originally posted by Eclectic Ales View Post
      Just so everybody knows I have a 3hp chiller with three 5bbl jacketed fermenters and I want to cool a 10bbl cold liquor tank too. Hope this info helps out some.
      I think what you're describing is doable and makes sense.