Car and keg from a fermenter?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Car and keg from a fermenter?

Can you Force carb in a fermenter and keg from one? MY Board wants to know if we could save money buy not buying bright tanks to keg from. Sorry if this is stupid im new to this.

Ok. Better. Yes. and yes. Need a carb stone in the fermenter and standard kegging from a pressurized tank. There's more...but basically the answers are yes and yes.

Comment

So why spend the extra $ on a bright tank?
      Last edited by jcmccoy; 01-06-2014, 08:07 PM.

Comment

So...you can carb and clear a beer in a fermenter. BUT, you can't ferment in a bright tank. (well, you could, but it would be ugly). It's about turning beers and tank space. Move the beer and brighten it in the brite tank. While you wait, brew and ferment another. You will tie up your fermenter if you use it as a brite tank.... Without a brite you will have a bottleneck in your brewing schedule....

Comment

Thanks I found this post to help understand further how it can work.

Comment

Good reasons to have one or more brites:

The big one: you want to serve directly out of the brites. You can't brew the next batch in a tank that's full of finished beer.
            Your kegging area is separate from your fermentation area and having a brite closer to your racking setup would be convenient
            You don't have enough cold room space, so you need bulk cold storage space from jacketed brites.
            You filter your beers and need somewhere for the beer to filter into from the uni
            You want the flexibility of being able to fine in-line and let the beer clear up in the brite
            Brites are usually a little cheaper than uni's.

Bad reasons

Several of the above can just as easily be served by using uni-tanks fitted with carb stones.
            You can't ferment in brites.