Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Process for reusing yeast. Am I missing things?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Process for reusing yeast. Am I missing things?

Hi all,
    I am new to the forum and I am also a new pro brewer; just got the job 2 days ago! Anyway, the brewery wants me to take over all the brewing operations; we have a small 1.5bbl system and I will be the only brewer. In the past, the beer has been WAY under pitched, like 3 smack packs for a 1.5bbl batch, thus there are a bunch funky esters and large amounts of diacetyl; the Hefe comes out with a smokey profile... Because we don't have a ton of cash, I need to wash and reuse all the yeast I can, but I have only done this on the home brew level. In reading through the forum, I believe I understand, but please tell me how I can improve the process:
    1. Once I have hit my FG, dump trub from the dump valve on the bottom of the conical; make sure to get rid of the brown material that first comes out. We do not have jacketed FVs, so I can't lower the temp.
    2. When the creamy yeast start flowing, capture them in a sanitized container (I will be using several 2000mL mason jars) and cover.
    3. Place in fridge
    4. When I go to use the yeast in the next day or two, bring it up to fermentation temps, sanitize the mason jar and dump it in.

What am I missing? I thought this process involved acid washing and additional chemicals? This seems too easy!

Thanks!