Cleaning 4bbl Plastic Frementors

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cleaning 4bbl Plastic Frementors

Ive been brewing for over 10 years and always on SS never had any issues. Now the new location uses plastic and I have run into a # of problems along the way. What have others used to clean these frementors. We seem to have random issues of a tart/slight sour batch every so often. The cleaning process is with 20gallons water/35ppm Idione run through a CIP for 30 mins. Water temp is around 150 degrees. Tanks are less then a year old. The Heat exchanger is also cycled with the same mix 2x before wort is run through it. Would love to hear what others do, if they have issues, how many batches them make a week, and how long you have been brewing. Just trying to get an idea if the answers are coming from pro or home brewers.

Also wanted to add in that the kitchen to the fremention room are attached and separated only by a door (that has some traffic) Our frementation room is cooled by high flow AC units which may or may not draw air in from the outside as well.
    Last edited by NYCraftBrewer; 03-10-2015, 03:00 PM.

Comment

I am curious, are you just cycling the hot iodine solution without any other cleaning solutions prior? If so, I would first stop cycling iodine above 100 degrees F as it can become corrosive and even dangerous. You may have experienced getting hot iodine vapors in your eyes before, it will immediately make you tear up for quite some time. Secondly, the tanks and heat exchanger need to be free from any soils or mineral deposits in order for the iodine to be effective. You may notice the iodine forming small bubbles in areas where the surface is not sufficiently clean.

Sanitizing with iodine should be your last cycle at room temperature. At 12.5-26 ppm, iodine is a no-rinse sanitizer. While iodine is effective, if you are using plastic fermenters, I would suggest using PAA as it will not stain your vessels.