Pump Seal Type

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pump Seal Type

I am in the process of picking out a CIP pump and along with giving me the option for HP it also gives me a choice for "Seal Type".

The options are:
    D-Single mechanical external seal
    DG-Single mechanical external seal with replaceable ceramic seat
    F-Single mechanical external seal with water cascade

Im far from an expert when it comes to pumps so I was wondering what these options are for and which is appropriate for a 1.5 HP pump?

Option F. Your seals will last much longer with the water wash, especially when pumping caustics and/or wort.
    Timm Turrentine

Brewerywright,
    Terminal Gravity Brewing,
    Enterprise. Oregon.

Comment

....and I'll take option DG.

I don't like to have water running all over the place, and I haven't had an issue with seals not lasting long enough. We replace our seals every two years. Maybe. And that's brewing most every day. So I like to keep it simple. I have a Hilge HLT pump with the same seal for 20 years.
      Phillip Kelm--Palau Brewing Company Manager--

Comment

+1 for DG option, but any will work when you take care of it

Any seal option should work fine when incorporated with proper maintenance and upkeep. I would recommend the one with replaceable ceramic.

Pay attention to your rotary seals. Rinse any wort off of pump hardware right away.

Establish good SOP to completely dismantle/clean your pump head: