Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do I need a brewpub license, or just a brewers notice (Michigan)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do I need a brewpub license, or just a brewers notice (Michigan)

I'm a bit confused regarding the type of license I need. Hopefully someone can help me. I am opening a brewery/taproom that will be serving pizzas. I have been told that all I need is a Brewers Notice. If I had a restaurant that served pizzas, and then wanted to brew beer, I would need a Brewers Notice and a Brewpub license. Now I heard that anytime a brewery wants to serve food, a Brewpub license is needed. What license do I really need?

Brewpub vs. Brewing license

Hello,

I am a beer lawyer in CO who grew up in Michigan.

For TTB, the difference between a brewpub and a brewery is independent of whether you serve food. This only relates to whether you are serving beer out of a tank, or whether you are going to keg it and serve from kegs. If you are serving beer from a tank, you will still need to get a TTB issued brewer's notice, but you will need to provide additional information to TTB about your tax determination method. If you serve from a keg, you are not a brewpub according to TTB.

States tend to categorize brewpubs and breweries depending on whether they serve food. I am not an expert in Michigan state law and regs, but (according to this info sheet) it looks like Michigan does follow this type of split, issuing Brewpub Licenses (applied for using the Retail License & Permit Application) to food service establishments, allowing them to produce up to 18,000 barrels of beer. Breweries (not brewpubs) appear to have to complete the Manufacturer & Wholesaler License & Permit Application.

Hope that clarifies things. Let me know if you would like assistance with any of this.

Dan Christopherson, Beer Lawyer
    Christopherson Brew Law
    6638 W. Ottawa Ave, Suite 220-3, Littleton, CO 80128