Brewery FloorPlan in CAD??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brewery FloorPlan in CAD??

Does anyone know how to do a brewery layout in AutoCAD? I have been asked by a supplier and I am not very good at that program, nor do I have it. Ive watched some videos on YouTube and its outta my league. Will pay! Thanks

AutoCAD is super expensive, and takes a while to learn. I used to use it when I was an engineer and even back in 1995 I didn't know how to use half the features. It's great for 3D modelling but I think it is overkill for just laying out equipment in a brewery.

A quick and easy way to lay out equipment it to use Excel. Size the rows and columns so that you make a square grid, and make each "block" equal to one foot or six inches or whatever scale you want. You can draw circles and rectangles for your equipment to scale, and move them around the plat pretty easily. Different items can be grouped together so that you can move them as one unit - for instance, rotating a brewhouse or moving an entire bottling line over a few feet.

I've used Excel to lay out our equipment in a couple breweries now and it's always been fine for my needs. And printouts of the layout in Excel have always been sufficient for the TTB and state and local license applications.
    Linus Hall
    Yazoo Brewing
    Nashville, TN
    www.yazoobrew.com

Comment

Are you working with an architect or MEP firm for any of the rest of your project? They would be able to very easily produce the drawings you need for the supplier.

As an alternate, you could create the drawings to scale in Sketchup. I have not personally used it, but the AE firm I work for uses it extensively for preliminary building modeling, and it seems pretty straight forward. I believe there is also a free or professional version.
      Brandon Besser, P.E.
      "He that breaks a thing to find out what it is has left the path of wisdom" - Gandalf

Comment

Originally posted by bbesser View Post