Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Investors

Hello,

I read some posts here that mention looking for investors for funding of a project. These investors can be anyone from family and friends to people who are just looking for opportunities to invest. They are also separate from banks.

My questions are:

1. What sort of deals do you make with these investors so they get their money back?

2. Do they become partial owners of your business?

Thank you,
    Jamie

Investors2

Hello,

Well I read some more on this subject on a small business website. The answers to both seem to be it depends upon the investor. According to the site some investors want to have an active role within your business, while others just want a good return on their investment within 7 years.

Hope this helps others.

Cheers
    Jamie

Comment

I have no experience with this, but a friend of mine who does once told me that regardless of the investors' percentage of ownership that you should word the contract so that you alone ultimately remain in control of the business.

Comment

$$$

I'll write a little bit about this as I am familiar with negotiating with private investors for my real estate biz. Basically, what we like to do is structure interest only notes with the principal due after a year or two depending on our needs. These notes are just simply loans and give the holder no stake in the business, its as if they are acting like our bank and just giving us a loan. Since it is private you'll have quite a bit of bargaining room, and you can close the deal at your attourney's office. This is probably the least risky for the investor as they will have something solid on paper if the loan is defaulted, however, more risky for the borrower because you will have interest payments and you'll be on the hook for the balance after the term is up.