Watered Shortage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Watered Shortage

I have been doing cellar work new to the industry for 3 months and wondered what peoples thoughts are on adding water to their brights when you run short after filtering. The filtering goes perfect but sometimes as much as 25-50 gallons is short from the bright. Never more than 2 barrels. Recently I found that when this happens we add water to the bright to make up for it. Is this a normal occurance in the industry? I would expect if not I won't get many responses. If it is, what is the max ratio that can be used to no break down the original beer style/taste.

Thanks y'all
    Charles

Charles,

I can't speak for anyone other than our brewery. I have never made up volume with water anywhere in the brewing process beyond lautering. I think anything more than a couple of percent would start to alter the flavor and body, not to mention greatly increasae the risks of contamination and oxidation (depending on how the water was prepared).

Comment

What he said. Just say no to adding water then. If you're consistently getting a barrel or two less than you want, put more water (and grain and hops) in the brew to begin with!

Cheers, Tim

Comment

I'm not sure what the licensing laws state over in the US (I assume you are in the US), but if you say you are selling a 5% ABV beer, and you you brew it to achieve 5% ABV in MV, but can then only achieve say 4.5 % in serving tank, then you are, first of all, cheating the customer, both in alcohol and flavour terms, but I wager you are also not within the licensing regs.

The easiest way to resolve this, as previously said, is to brew at higher gravity to achieve say 5.5% ABV so that after the inevitable dilution of filtration you actually achieve your target 5% in serving tank.