Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Volunteer Work in Brewery

Hi,

I am a software engineer and homebrewer that suddenly finds himself out of a job. Luckily, my employer has given me a generous severance package which will support me for a few months.

I cannot imagine spending 8 hours a day 5 days a week answering want ads and applying for jobs, so I was considering volunteering my time at a local brewpub or brewery one day a week for a change of pace.

I have no desire to become a professional brewer, but there are quite a few talented brewers in my area that I could learn a great deal from in order to improve my homebrewing skills.

I know all the brewers in my city and visit them once every few months to see what's up, so they know who I am.

Is volunteering to help out in the brewery a good idea for the brewer? the business? for me? I would think that having an assistant would be a good thing, but perhaps I'd be getting in the way more than helping. Also, once I found a new engineering job I would no longer be able to help. Are there insurance concerns or labor laws that would be a problem? Should I go directly to the brewer with my proposal, or should I "apply" through the normal channels of the brewpub/brewery management? I realize that I would probably be cleaning out mash-tuns and mopping the floor, but that's OK if I am learning too.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Conventional wisdom says "no", because breweries are places where it's quite possible to get hurt, and non-employees aren't covered by insurance.