Thread: Conical Fv's and yeast removal help.

Question Conical Fv's and yeast removal help.

I am new to using conical fv's and all is great with temp control, fermentation.

But I am having a problem with the yeast (so4) as follows.

Fermentation hits FG, Dump yeast, Add finings then crashing the fermenters to 32 F over 24 hours, and settle for up to 5 days.

I slowly open bottom valve to dump yeast (a few times over days) until its bright. Hook up plate and frame to racking port, and start to filter.
    (10bbls) Filtration runs well for about 7bbls then starts getting clogged with yeast.

It almost fells like the yeast cake is floating on the top or something???
    Not really sure whats going on in there.
    I have even tried running lots of bright from the bottom valve (but dont like watching the nectar go down the drain.

Until now we have been using dish bottom tanks with stand pipes and that worked great.

Any idea's?or advice would be fantastic.
    Cheers

S-04 is supposed to be a fairly flocculent yeast, so perhaps there are clumps holding onto the cone of your conical FV's? If you are yeasting off slowly and then trying to filter at a faster speed than you yeast off, that might be pulling these clumps of yeast off the cone and into your filter.

How does the beer upstream of your filter look as you are filtering? If you're seeing chunks of yeast flit by in your sight glass, then it likely is yeast being pulled from the cone.

If this is the case, what I would do is alter the yeast-off method. I'd do a couple of long slow yeast offs when beer is on-chill and fined, then when it looks more like yeasty beer than it does beery yeast, give it a few 'shocks' ie open and close the tank valve to let a few short high-velocity bursts of yeasty beer out. This is a good way to dislodge clumpy bits of yeast from the cone..., if this is your problem...