Industry Future

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Industry Future

Hi all, I am new to this forum and hope you can help me. I am a student. My current project is undertaking an Industry Analysis of the Brewing Industry particularly in the USA concentrating on Craft beers but not exclusive too.

I have found most of the info I am looking for but am struggling in one area. That being what are the "critical current and emerging strategic issues facing the industry". Particularly the emerging issues.

Can anyone help PLEASE, maybe point me to an article or website where I may get some answers. I have searched over 100 sites now and my time is running out.

I really appreciate your help
    Paul
    Last edited by Brewing Student; 08-31-2004, 08:59 PM.

OK, I'll take a stab at a couple emerging issues (current, really). Neo-prohibitionism is a re-awaking monster. Look at the on-going drive to reduce drinking to a criminal act itself by dropping legal BAC levels to absurd lows. See ABIonline.org. The current national concern over carbs could impact beer sales, so search around on that issue, too. Distribution has always been, and always will be, a major challenge for new breweries. Consider taking a look at the constitutional issues surrounding interstate sales of craft beer and wine. Also, state and municipal distribution networks may see a constitutional challenge, which could potentially open up markets. Not unique to brewing, but a business opportunity nonetheless is the potential for forays into China. Food for thought.

Dean

Comment