Thread: Cafe Press? Anyone have any experience? Making T Shirts?

Cafe Press? Anyone have any experience? Making T Shirts?

I was looking to start making a little cash selling t shirts, mugs, etc. Well, I came across cafe press, and it looks like they would give you 10% of whatever you sell through them. Now I'm no expert, but that doesn't seem like much of a margin. If it were 20%, I'd consider it, but what are the typical margins you see on such products?

I will say that it is fairly convenient. You basically just slap your design on their stuff, and away you go.

If I understand how cafepress works, you just point people to their site, and they do all the work for you. 10% with little to no work is pretty nice. If you're buying them yourself, managing shipping to remote locations, holding inventory, etc, thats a decent amount of work you're giving yourself and yes you can probably get 20% profit at that point. Its your call, simplicity and 10% or a bit extra work for higher margins.
    ~Phil

I have used CafePress quite a bit in the past. Seemed like a pretty good deal; upload you image, digitally place it on items, set a price above their base price, create a store page on their server, collect a percentage from all the sales.
    OR
    pay a screen printing company to place your image on shirts, pay them, carry an inventory,pay and organize shipping, etc, etc.
    I would suggest you order one each of the items you do on CafePress so you can see the quality yourself.

Luck and Prost!
    Dave
    Glacier Brewing Company
    406-883-2595
    glacierbrewing@bresnan.net

"who said what now?"

You will be much better off going with your local print shop.
    At least that is my experience.

Will your local print shop help you setup your own online point of sale? Or take care of all shipping duties when a customer orders it online. Sorry I do not see the comparison.