Max System Size for Single Brewer?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Max System Size for Single Brewer?

Hello all. My first post here. Thanks for having me. Im currently brewing on a half barrel Sabco system at a pizza restaurant/ brewpub. The owners are looking to expand the brewery to possibly an eight barrel system, and have asked me if I could handle that sized system alone. Read, they dont want to hire any assistants and want to know how large a system I can manage with no help.

We will be packaging in kegs for serving in house and distribution to the other restaurants they own.

Full disclosure: I am a long time homebrewer who just happened to fall into this job. I have no commercial brewing experience other than the last year brewing on this pilot system. I am totally unprepared to be turned loose with an eight barrel system and left to sink or swim, but it looks like that's exactly what's gonna happen.

I'm sure this is the first of many dumb questions I will pose to this forum and I appreciate any help and advice I can get as I start the journey to becoming a pro brewer.

So what say you? How large a system can one man handle? Cheers!
    Brick Oven Brewery and Pizza Co.

Water, taken in moderation, cannot hurt anyone.
    - Mark Twain

Operating 8BBL brewery is a full time job. The biggest challenge going from 1/2 BBL system to lager scale brewing is just scale of it. Imagine you need to move 250 gallons of beer. Emptying 250 lb of spend grain. Cleaning it with CIP...

Good luck.

Comment

2 cents

we operate a 10hl brew-pub (no off premise sales) about one brew day a week- with one FT and another PT to handle; ordering, milling, cleaning and keg washing & excise taxes.
      If we had serving tanks it would be probably fewer hours.
      If you doing any packaging/distribution- that will be more time-