Experience with steam jacketed mash tun or mash in kettle systems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Experience with steam jacketed mash tun or mash in kettle systems

Greetings good people of probrewer! I am seeking some advice from those with experience using either a steam jacketed mash tun or a mash in kettle option. Our brewery will produce many single infusion ales but I want the flexibility to do some step mashes. Of the reputable manufacturers that we have selected, one has offered a mash in kettle option where the mixing paddles fold up to not disrupt the whirlpool function and the other a jacketed mash tun. I have only brewed on systems doing single infusion so I am unsure which direction to go. Any input would be greatly appreciated. I searched for threads before posting this but couldn't quite find what I was looking for. Cheers!

Hello! I'm fairly new to the pro-brewing world, so I haven't brewed on a large variety of systems, but currently I'm on a 15 bbl DME with a two-zone steam-jacketed mash mixer, and we love it. We do step mashes on nearly all of our beers, and the steam is quite efficient and quick for heating it up. It really allows us to use some different grains (partially, or unmodified), and brew styles that we would have trouble really nailing down with single infusion.

We also do decoctions on a few lagers, and we can perform the decoction right in the mash tun. Our lauter tun is insulated, so we pump over about 2/3 of the mash and boil the remaining 1/3 (ish) in the mash mixer. This fairly consistently gets us up to our decoction temperature, and we don't even need to bother with different plumbing or getting crafty to get that mash into the kettle.

Basically the heated mash tun is the shit. I would/will try to have one in any future brewery where I were a part of the design process.

Comment