Thread: Is it possible to re-bottle or can beer?

Question Is it possible to re-bottle or can beer?

I am very new to this whole process but am trying to learn as much as I can. I have been reading a few home brewing books and am very anxious to get started. However, one question that I have been wondering about is if it is possible to re-bottle beer after it has been opened. Alittle background on my question is that I usually will add cherry flavoring such as the cherries that you find in a grocery store when I drink a beer. However, I thought that it might taste better if I were to add this juice to the beer after it was finished and rebottle it and let it sit with the flavoring in it.
    So I guess my question is 1. is this possible? 2. Would it cause the beer to ferment further causing the bottle to explode because of the sugar in the cherry juice? I would be adding this in a sterile bottle and mixing tank at least the way I am picturing it. Is it possible?

Thanks so much sorry if the question doesn't make sense.

CHEERS

Maybe I'm missing something, but why not just add cherry juice to your drinking vessel?
    Cheers & I'm out!
    David R. Pierce
    NABC & Bank Street Brewhouse
    POB 343
    New Albany, IN 47151

I can do that, however I was just wondering if there was a way to do it so that I could re-bottle it. Wanting to see how the taste would turn out. Like I said I don't know all the technical aspects, but I know that sugar can cause an excess amount of pressure in the bottle. I wasn't sure if you could just take beer mix it with some cherry syrup and rebottle it. The beer would already have been a finished product once. hopefully that clears it up a bit.

secondary ferment

Sounds like your 'new product' is taking off Corey. Good luck with the cherry juice beer.