Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyones Brewery have a Parkade Underneath? Load issues.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyones Brewery have a Parkade Underneath? Load issues.

I am currently in discussions with the engineers on this building that has a full parkade underneath the main floor.

I have a 10 BBL brewhouse. Was looking at 2x 20BBL and 5x 10BBL unitanks, 6x serving tanks. These are my calcs.

Vessel Type sq-in [psi] w/liquid 6" foot sq-in [psi] w/liquid 8" foot
    10 bbl Unitank 7.77 4.33
    20 bbl fat unitank 15.09 8.40
    MT 9.99 5.56
    BK 10.88 6.06
    8 BBL Serving tank 6.33 3.69

Click image for larger version

Name:	Brewery Weight1b.JPG
Views:	1
Size:	85.8 KB
ID:	194724

This is what I know so far and I am not an structural engineer or an expert in concrete so excuse any ignorance. The concrete is 9" thick and is designed for 100 psf live load. One engineer said it was ok as he calculated 76 lbs per sq ft. Another engineer is second guessing it saying; vessel number 5 weighs 6760# when full with a base of 6’ diameter. The area of a 6’ diameter circle is 28.27 sq ft. 6760/28.27 = 240 psf. The majority of the vessels in your table end up with similar area loads (vessel 4 is 315 psf and vessel 6 is 340 psf). This floor is designed for 100 psf live load per the requirements of the Building Code. In order to increase the load bearing capacity of the floor at this point would require reinforcement of the slab from below.

I think they are still working through the information as they seek to understand. I know all concrete is built different and it depends on the supports underneath people cant answer. I'm looking into 8" foot instead of 6". I'm looking into horizontal tanks. I'm looking into metal plates under the fermenters.

What I am looking to hear if anyone else has a brewery above a parkade (or similar)and if you have to do anything special for the load. Is there any concrete questions I should be asking?