Fermentation Temperature too high!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fermentation Temperature too high!!!

So we had a chiller malfunction and a beer reached 30 degrees celcius. It is a bog standard 4% Pale Ale. It is still fermenting, and finally at a nice 18 degrees to slow the fermentation but I have no experience with this. The yeast is US 05, and the beer is currently 1018.

Is the beer ruined and what is the best way of nursing the beer back to health?

More info?

Where was the fermentation at when this happened? High temps are an especial worry during the initial growth phase, afterwards, not nearly as much. US-05 is pretty forgiving, and a very low ester producer, so if it was later on, you may have a chance. I'd let it finish and let sensory evaluation decide its fate.

Comment

Fermentation too high!

I know that there will be a good chance the beer is ruined from fusel alcohol. Which you would really only know once you drink it (I am sure there are ways to detect it)and it will leave you with a headache. I stumbled on to how to detect this when I had a batch shout up to 80F+ on day two of fermentation and brought it down over the course of the next 12 hours and it finished fine, tasted good. However it leaves this chemically taste on the roof of my mouth and a headache! I didn't but the chemically taste together with fusel alcohol until one day I was tasting a couple brews with a brewer at his brewery and I tasted that chemical, so I asked him about that beer and sure enough the temp spiked on the fermentation. I started researching fusel alcohol and it really only comes from two sources: mainly over heated yeast or seems less often over stressed yeast. i.e. way-over pitched (if there is to many yeast they don't get enough food to do there job) or under pitched. Over heated yeast at the start of fermentation is not good.