DO Levels

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DO Levels

In terms of DO levels, product stability and overall quality. Would an entry level bottling system be better than an entry level canning system? Something in the 15k range. ex: HDP(or equivalent) vs. Cask manual system(or equivalent).

Manual canning line

I've been running a Cask manual line for a few months now. Just realizing how bad sanitizing the cans has been for product life. Probably changing to water or foregoing the rinse entirely until we buy another machine. Need to consider how your empties are stored whether cans or bottles and then how you intend to rinse before filling.

Applying pressure sensitive labels to cans is not a big deal either, which enables you to buy smaller quantities of Brite cans instead of pre labeled.

Good luck!
    Scott Swygert
    Founder - Honky Tonk Brewing Co.

Comment

Manual can sanitation Issues

We have also noticed issue's with oxidation with Cask manual canner and are looking into a different pre rinse method. What did you guys end up coming up with?
      Cheers!

Comment

Cans will always have the tendency to pick up DO faster than bottles. Bottles can be pumped down to a vacuum, and refilled with CO2. Cans can only be purged. Sanitizers can carry oxygen, most places use sterile water for rinse, which leads to a big number in water consumption for packaging lines. One thing I know that New Belgium does to keep the TPO down is to dose a grain or two of dried yeast into every can, it soaks up all the oxygen pretty quickly.

Comment

rinsing cans

We just bought a new canning line. We set it to rinse with filtered water only.

The last time we used the manual machine, we did not rinse at all. We set up a test with a few cans to see if there was a difference between Star San rinse and no rinse, but it's only been a couple of weeks and I have not tasted the beers yet.