Contract Brewing: TTB/COLA Label Requirements

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Contract Brewing: TTB/COLA Label Requirements

Does anyone know what is required by the TTB/COLA in terms of information on where the beer was brewed in a contract scenario? We plan on canning and have everything ready to submit label wise sans this information once we select a contract partner to brew/package the beer. The TTB site isn’t very helpful with this particular circumstance. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hello from Littleton CO - Label question

Does anyone know what is required by the TTB/COLA in terms of information on where the beer was brewed in a contract scenario? We plan on canning and have everything ready to submit label wise sans this information once we select a contract partner to brew/package the beer. The TTB site isn’t very helpful with this particular circumstance. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Hello, I am a beer lawyer located in Littleton, CO. If you are going to contract brew, you have the option of having the brewer add your name as a DBA to their brewer's notice in order to allow them to say, e.g., "Brewed/bottled by beereaucrat." The label will have to also include the city/state where the beer was brewed. If you don't go the route of setting up a DBA, you will have to say "Brewed/bottled by Brewer X (the name of the contract brewery). You could potentially say something like, "Brewed/bottled by Brewer X for beereaucrat" also.

Side note - you should make sure your production agreement with the contract brewery clearly spells out that you are the owner of the trademarks used on the label, and that you are issuing them a license to use the trademarks to produce and package your beer.

Hope that is helpful.

Regards,

Dan Christopherson, Beer Lawyer
    Christopherson Brew Law
    6638 W. Ottawa Ave, Suite 220-3, Littleton, CO 80128
    720-515-8773 (phone) | dan@brew.law | www.brew.law