Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• cider taste in my homebrew

Hello everyone,
    I'm new to the art of brewing beer, and so far, all of the beer I've brewed has a cider taste to it. Wether I go from homebrew kits (i.e. Coopers, Geordie, etc) or from using kits that don't require any sugar additions (all grain kits), the end result is either a sweet tasting or plainly cider-like beer. I even started utilizing non-hopped malt extracts, that require the boiling of hops and grain malts additions, with liquid 'Brewer's Yeast' with a better result, but still with that cider taste.

Don't know what to do. Any advice on how I could create a blonde beer that does not taste like limonaid?

Thanks!

Neophyte

Try searching this website, it's specifically for homebrewers and there is alot of info there.

Discussion forums covering general homebrew topics, all-grain brewing, recipe exchange, as well as wine and mead making.

Off the cuff, I can suggest two things, sugar and water.
    1) white table sugar can cause a cidery flavor (if you're using it)
    2) Blonde beer is very difficult, as the water properties can be more noticable. You'll need to consult some homebrew books on water and compare your own water.
    Good Luck.

Comment

Hello neo.
      It sounds to me like you could have an acetaldehyde problem.
      Factors that can lead to an increase in acetaldehyde:
      Temperature increase during fermentation
      Applying pressure during primary fermentation
      Insufficcient wort aeration
      Infected wort
      Any one of these factors could be responsible.
      In order to lose this flavor in your beer you will want to maintain a consistent primary fermentation temperature ( depending on the style of beer Ales vs Lagers).
      Make sure your vessels are properly vented so that the co2 can escape.
      Consider your aeration method and see if it can't be improved.
      And be sure to practice extreme cleanliness.

Good luck

Comment