Rye usage with cara-pils

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rye usage with cara-pils

I'm writing a recipe for a 7bbl system to be brewed next week... about 17% rye malt. I've been brewing professionally for four years but this is my first recipe so I'm a bit nervous. The recipe calls for approx 10% Muntons cara-pils because i've read that rye affects head retention and also I want this beer to have a nice body (curvaceous-LOL) and a big rocky head. In addition to the base malt (Muntons Perle Pale) I'm adding 1% crystal @ 150 Lov. and 50lbs. of rice hulls. The ABV will be 7.3%...I guess what I'm wondering is...can one use too much cara-pils? And does 1% seem too little? Geez I'm nervous this recipe will be shitty...I've confidently written hundreds of recipes at home that turned out wonderful but this is a whole different ballgame...Any help is appreciated.

I do a rye brown every year that uses 20%. I don't use rice hulls, but my run off is about 25-30 minutes longer than usual. Having that small of a system I would say that is way more rice hulls than you need. I am using a 10bbl system and do most of my brews in 8bbl due to having a handful of smaller fermenters. For my hefe which is 50 50 2 ow and wheat I still use 25 lbs of rice hulls and it works out fine.
    I am personally of the opinion that cara pils is not needed. Rye will lend well to the body. If you want a little more, mash few degrees on the warm side 155-ish =) As for head....you could add some wheat. My 2 cents

Comment

I agree with Buckley; no need for carapils and 50# rice hulls is over kill, I use 25# in a 30 bbl. batch 50/50 Hefe. For more head you can use some wheat, I prefer flaked barley.
      Cheers & I'm out!
      David R. Pierce
      NABC & Bank Street Brewhouse
      POB 343
      New Albany, IN 47151

Comment