Dry-hopped beer and clarity

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dry-hopped beer and clarity

Does anyone know if there's a correlation between dry-hopped products and clarity problems in the package? I use a centrifuge for primary filtration into the BT, then a Handtmann MultiMicro system for a polish on the way to the bottle. After a couple months I notice some particulates percipitating in the bottle, but only on those products which were dry-hopped. Any suggestions? Much thanks!

Are you dry hopping with whole hops or pellets?
    BrewerTL

Comment

Assuming (because of the time delay) that you have a calcium carbonate fallout (white flaky chunks), is it possible that the dry hopping is not the problem? Do you acidify the mash water or treat your brewing water?
      I have very little experience with packaged dry-hopped product but I would be more inclined to look at water chemistry and brewing profiles before hopping regimen unless you were somehow transfering particulate to your final product (which would be obvious immediately).

Comment

Thank you all.
        More info might help huh? Here ya' go. I am dry-hopping with pelletized hops. I have tried in the past to acidulate the mash water, but saw no change in the packaged result. I'm using a 1 micron nominal pad set for the Handtmann filter just prior to the filler, and all recommended proceedures are followed. Anyone who can offer any advice on this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again!

Comment