No malting required?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No malting required?

I just read a few articles about Novazymes enzymes for grains where malting of grains is no longer required for brewing.

Anybody use this? Sounds pretty easy and if it works,,local grains can be used without the need for malting? Really?

Here's just one link about it. Google for more.

Unfortunately, the page you were looking to access is no longer available or has been moved. However, we have plenty of informative content for you - just browse our site to learn more.

This method has been employed now for awhile around the EU. I have no experience with it but tasting the beers brewed from other large breweries. I have to say the finished product from several of the breweries was OK, but not great as it was standard pilsner. The main factor....breweries are using enzymes to lower the overall input cost for raw materials. Some of the breweries market the beer as being low environmental impact which I like but GMO enzymes used to make my beer is a bit too much for me. Perhaps some other voices can chime in about using it.....I believe non-GMO enzymes might also occur....

Cheers,
    Mike
    Mike Jordan
    Brewmaster
    Boxing Cat Brewery
    Shanghai, P.R. China
    michael@boxingcatbrewery.com

Comment

n

Originally posted by wildcrafter
      local grains can be used without the need for malting?