Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Water Service size question

Hi,
    I have a 10 bbl brewhouse I'm installing, and I need to improve the city water service from its current miniscule level. I can go up to a 1" line without much hassle, or I could go through a huge amount of administrative red tape and take it up to 1-1/4, 1-1/2 or more. This would also take more time.

To me, I'm thinking that my biggest instantenous-use water-hog is the heat exchanger used to chill the wort (currently no CLT, but I have room for one in the future if growth requires it).

Of course more is better, but I'd like to save the extra time involved if I can. Is a 1" line going to be adequate or am I setting myself up for headaches down the road?

Thanks,
    S

P.S. I am told that local water pressure is 50-60psi.

There is an easy and useful tool you could use here:

(this is a great site for basic engineering info, lots of which would be useful to brewers (I am a process engineer, so I use it for all sorts of things! I've validated the software - it works fine!))

You should aim for between 1 and 3 m/s (sorry - I'm metric!) velocity in your pipes, and/or about 20 to 50 kPa/100m pipe. According to the software, at 1 m/s, you would lose about 1.3 psi if your pipe run was about 20m long and 1" (inside) diameter. This isn't too bad (about 45 kPa/100m). This also assumes new (clean) pipe - if your water is hard, you may with to select a 'fouled' factor to account for future possible scaling. This would increase the dP/100m a bit, but probably you wouldn't lose sleep over it. You have plenty of dP to burn if your supply pressure is 50-60 psi.