First batch as a licensed brewery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First batch as a licensed brewery

First, let me start by saying that moving from a homebrewer to full 1.5 BBL system has been a little bigger jump than I had figured ... BUT ... here I am. I've got new nano-brewery in Washington State (licensed in March 2011) and just completed my first 50 gallon batch. I've been brewing this amber for many years on a small scale, so I didn't think there'd be much difference going bigger.

My first brew (50 gallons of an Amber Ale) was supposed to come out at an OG of 1.060, but ended up with 1.065, oxygenated directly in the ferementer with a .5 micron stone (4 minutes), then pitched a liter of yeast. Had a very active 3 days of fermentation, then very little. After 10 days, my gravtiy is at 1.022 and I can't get it lower. I was trying for a 1.015.

Does that seem high? and what can I do to help ensure I reach the correct FG next time. More oxygen?

Any advice (other than turning back) would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Steve
    Battenkill Brewing Company
    Poulsbo, WA

Congratulations on your first commercial batch!

I believe we will need more information in order to help you out. Have you bubbled CO2 through the fermenter to roust the yeast, what was the fermentation temperature, what yeast was pitched, how did you mash, try raising the temperature slightly, etc.
    Last edited by Scott M; 04-18-2011, 12:05 AM.

Comment

Without more info, either underpitched, low o2 or mash temp was too high (to start with, look there first). Not enough info to make a call on (1 liter yeast? Cell count? Generation? Lab? Thin slurry?). Take plenty of notes, you will not nail your beer on the first few batches. The more data you collect, the better you will be able to figure out which of the 100 variables to look at first.

-Beaux

Comment