Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Meheen 4 head bottler questions/issues

Howdy,
    I just inherited a 20bbl brewery that included a 4 head Meheen bottler; I have been told that Meheens are a poor choice for a bottling line due to excessive oxygenation (no pre-evac/purge prior to the fill) and the fact that the filling lines and fill tubes aren't really set up to be cleaned with caustic, etc., thus requiring frequent replacement.
    Being a start up, we want to minimize costs, but of course, we'd much rather not put out a poor bottled product due to issues with our bottling equipment -- any feedback? Can we replace the feed/fill lines and tubes with stainless for ease of cleaning, and mod the machine for pre-evac/purging?

Thanks!

Rob Zamites
    "By man's sweat and God's love, beer came into the world" -- St. Arnold of Metz

I have been using Meheen bottlers for several years. My experience with Meheens is that they are the PERFECT bottler for small, startup breweries. If you have a pile of capital laying around, invest in a used Krones line. But the Meheen four-head filler is designed for micros. Yes the filler tubes and tubing do need to be replaced occasionally but every bottler needs that and these won't cost you $120.00 per filler tube! If you have specific questions about your machine, give Dave Meheen a call, (509) 547-7029. Luck to ya'!

David
    Glacier Brewing Company
    406-883-2595
    info@glacierbrewing.com

"who said what now?"

Comment

Thanks David,
      Once I get more settled in I'll give him a call and see what transpires!

Rob
      "By man's sweat and God's love, beer came into the world" -- St. Arnold of Metz

Comment

I concur that Dave Meheen has always been responsive and great to deal with ... you can also email him at meheen@owt.com