3 bbl mlt false bottom construction

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3 bbl mlt false bottom construction

I'm building a 3bbl mash tun and had a question about false bottoms.

I see most homebrew false bottoms are stainless steel 18 gauge perforated sheet. I'm no expert, but seems that 18 gauge would be too thin for the weight of 3bbl mash.

What would be a good thinkness to consider?

Thanks,
    Chris

Manifold...

Another option is to build a manifold with perforated (small slots or holes) pipes... That is what we use on our pilot keggles system and it works like a charm

Comment

Thanks

I thought about doing that when I was looking at a few dairy tank. But I really would like to do a complete false bottom. The tank I'm building has a nice slightly concave bottom. So I think I would be better off in the long run with false bottom.

Comment

+1 on the manifold idea... cutting cost does not always lead to the best solution, but it works for these guys and i will most likely be going the same route for my 3 bbl. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zt1OXoDbqGs

thats nice that you picked up a tank with a dish bottom- is it a center drain?

Comment

3 Bbl Mlt