Carbonation and Head Retention

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Carbonation and Head Retention

This is my first time using this forum. How exciting. I have been brewing a great IPA for seven years, and serving it at our brewpub, mostly on a beer engine at very low carbonation rates. We recently started to sell our beer wholesale, and I'm having problems with carbonation and head retention in kegs at other bars. My questions:
    Should I invest in a carbonation tester to ensure that the kegs going out have enough CO2, or is there another way test for proper carbonation.
    Could the head retention in the IPA be related to hop oils rather than carbonation levels? It is rather aggressively hopped both in the kettle and the conditioning tank.

Thanks.

Aggressive hopping should help head retention not hurt. If hopping is in the brew house and fermentation I would say hop oils should not hurt due to attaching to all kinds stuff (i.e. yeast) rather than to beer (did a quick search to verify this but could not find anything, so take it with a grain of salt).

You say you are pouring this beer through a beer engine at your establishment but did not specify whether you’re off site sales are through a beer engine.

If they are using beer engines off site then I can't suggest anything that could be different other than the obvious (beer clean glasses, clean beer lines etc.)

If pouring this beer through draft systems your typical beer engine carbonation is very low at roughly 1.4 - 1.8 vols co2. Cask ale head retention (and significant taste change) is primarily achieved through the entrainment of N2 into the liquid. If you push beer with co2 that low through a regular draft system you will have very flat lifeless beer (this would improve slightly the longer the beer sits tapped gaining CO2). Typical draft beer is around 2.5 vols.