Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The good/bad & the ugly

Hi All,

I would like to start this post(As it is my first) by saying thanks for your help in advance.I am currently in the process of setting up a small microbrewery. Im not too far along in the process and Im in need of some help.

The Good - I come from a Manufacturing background. I am a process engineer by trade but have some experience in business. My father is a stainless fitter in the manufacture of dairy equipment so I have access to stainless tanks/fab equipment etc. I am an good home brewer but have not made the leap to recipe creation yet.
    The bad - The market will be tough, not too open to Craft Brewing but this is changing daily. My capital is low but I can fabricate most of the equipment myself and I can raise the operation capital with a handle.
    The Ugly - My question:Is it feasible to build the equipment myself, where is the best place to get plans. Should I get a consultant. I recon I can produce a a 10bbl setup, brew kettle, Mash/Lauder, 4-6 FV's for around $10k. I know it is alot to take on but I think it is good to be familiar with the equipment and I can save a fortune. I just need to get some plans etc.

Any help is really appreciated,
    Thanks in advance.

Squinty

hope you have more than 10k....

Even with a welder in the family and "free" tanks (assuming you could find them), I doubt you could build a 10 bbl system for $10,000. You will need lots of things for those tanks that you probably won't be able to get as cheap. You'll need either a boiler or direct fire burner, glycol system, clamps, hoses etc. I have a pretty low budget 7 bbl system and probably have 5,000 worth of triclamp fittings, valves, barbs etc (and keep buying more every day). thats not including the tanks, cold room, kegs etc.

and this is only the fixed assets. then you have rent, insurance, utilities, etc that you have to pay while you are putting everything together....