Any Air Compressor Experts Out There?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any Air Compressor Experts Out There?

Any air compressor experts out there that care to keep me from making a mistake? I am looking for an air compressor for a canning line. The requirements are 35 CFM @ 145 PSI. Would this one fit the bill?

Thanks for looking.

Originally posted by DowneastCider View Post
    Any air compressor experts out there that care to keep me from making a mistake? I am looking for an air compressor for a canning line. The requirements are 35 CFM @ 145 PSI. Would this one fit the bill?

Thanks for looking.
    I'm by no means an expert but I'll chirp in.

Sizing/design has a lot to do with 'duty cycle' or how long does the equipment in question consume air at that level (ie 10% of the time or 90%).

Instinctively, a couple of things. At that level of consumption, you might want to consider a larger receiver. Depending where you are putting the compressor, sometimes a secondary receiver close to point of use is the way to go. a rule of thumb, I'd been taught to approximate air compressor size is 1 hp ~ 4 cfm, so on sizing I think you'll be good. A single stage compressor might work very hard to produce air at that pressure.

Depending on your application, you may need coalescing filters and/or oilers on your air lines.

Liam
    Liam McKenna
    www.yellowbellybrewery.com

Comment

Joe Hallock

I have owned and operated a medical manufacturing company for fourteen years. We manufacture in metal, wood and plastics with a lot of CNC machines. Your best bet for compressor is a rotary screw compressor. They have built-in filters and do not need a separate in-line dryer. They are a little more expensive but much more dependable and efficient.

Comment

I think rotary screw is overkill.

A brewery doesn't normally call on a compressor for continuous use, and continuous use is where you realize the potential of rotary compressors.