Fluoride in the Beer Water

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fluoride in the Beer Water

I just had the water authority stop by for a little Q&A about the water here. We tested the chlorine at 1.1ppm not a problem I think.... BUT she told me that they dose the water here with fluoride (something I thought municipalities didnt do so much anymore) at about .9 to 1.1 ppm. Anyone have input on whether Fluoride is a problem? and is there and easy (as in cheap) way to get rid of it?

thanks
    Dave

Hello David,

I've been brewing with water containing fluoride for over ten years. No problems that I'm aware of to date. Currently I use village municipal water containing roughly 0.4 PPM fluoride. Not dosed, but naturally occurring from erosion of mineral deposits and such. I realize this is less than half of what your water contains. I'll poke around at home (later tonight) and see if I can come up with any "threshold" type numbers. If I do, I'll send off what I find.

Cheers,
    Ron

Comment

The chlorine level sounds way too high - 0.4 ppm max at point of use would be far less likely to cause any taint. When dosing chlorine dioxide, the target range is often quoted as 0.2 to 0.4 ppm free chlorine - to keep water sterile, and to reduce very low levels of infection. If you're concerned about removal of excess chlorine and or fluorine, use a carbon filter. Make sure you have a decent trap filter after the carbon filter. They have been known to break down and allow carbon into the water distribution system.

Have to say, I have never heard of a query regarding fluorine before, so can offer no other comments re acceptable levels.

Cheers
      dick

Comment

fluoride same as fluorine ?

Dick,

I'm a little confused...Is fluoride the same as fluorine ?

I heard on a radio talkshow that removing fluoride (ie filtering) is impossible.
        Tariq Khan (Brewer/Distiller)

Yaletown Brewing and Distilling Co.
        Vancouver, B.C.
        Canada

Comment