Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2012 American Brewers Guild Graduate looking for Brewer/Assistant Position

Hi-

I am a 2012 graduate of the American Brewers Guild. I interned with Harpoon for 5 weeks last August where they placed me in a different area of the brewery every week. I learned a lot from that experience, not only about how important professional and sanitary brewing is but also how important teamwork is when trying to consistently put out a great product.

After the internship ended, I accepted a position as an Assistant Brewer with Back East Brewing Co. in Bloomfield, CT. I was able to learn from a very talented and knowledgeable brewer who also had 10+ years of experience in the industry. Adding to this experience was the fact that Back East had also only been open for a few months. I was literally helping a company grow from the ground up. As it was a two person team in the brewhouse and the brewer had little time to peer over my shoulder on a regular basis, I had little choice but to be self-motivated to get things done. The responsibilities included but were not limited to: beer conditioning and carbonation level testing, transferring from fermenter to brite tanks, packaging, milling, some brewing duties and direct sales in our tasting room.

In February of this year, I received a phone call from the owner of a nearby brewpub asking if I would like to take on the position of Head Brewer at their facility. The owner and I mutually agreed that it would be best for him to hire another person for this position and I left on June 2nd.