Lenticular Filter storage.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lenticular Filter storage.

I am new to Lenticular filtering. I have been following my manufactures advice, but storage is not working for me. I am pitching my filters after every use.

I am using a two 4 module 16" inch filters, by Filtrox. Currently I filter about once a month. After my first filtration I flushed the filters forward, manufacturer suggest this rather than a back flush. I do a cold flush until my discharge water flows clear, then I go to a hot water flush about 113 degrees until discharge water runs clear again.

After my first run I packed the filters with Peraoxycetic acid. After about a week my filters had a terrible stench. I threw all of the filters out. I replaced all my gaskets, except for the big O ring on the bottom.

I got with my sales rep, we discussed the issue. His advice was to pack the filter with acid and keep my ph at 2.

On my second run I did the same flushing routine. I packed the filter with a nitric/phos blend I use for my regular CIP routine.

2 weeks pass I check the ph, still at 2. But the stench returned. Not nearly as bad as the first time. But I do not dare run beer through it again.

So I am pitching out my filters after one filtration run! I can't keep doing this it is costing me way to much.

What am I doing wrong?
    What are others doing?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer!

the amish brewer

How would you describe the stench?

Comment

It smells like the worst overused port-a-potty you have ever been in at festival. With a touch of neglected barnyard and some old urinal cakes to try and cover the smell up. Obviously something nasty is growing in it.

Comment

After a thorough flush, I resterilize and then purge the filter with Co2 and leave it with ~15psi on it. I've never had an issue with any bad odors or any sort of growth.

Comment

Thanks Myke J.

So if I follow correctly here.

Flush.
          Pack with Sani.