Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Refinishing/Regraining Stainless tanks..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Refinishing/Regraining Stainless tanks..

Has anybody regrained their stainless tanks. My new/used tanks are pretty ugly on the outside...Many scratches in shipment and it looks like the last owner used some sort of abrasive to clean the outside of the tanks.

Lots of ugly swirly, light scratches. And there is a thin layer of oxidation over everything.

Anybody have any opinions on what works before I start hitting the local welding shops and asking them?

Thanks!

I'm far from an expert on this topic (like all topics really), but I've had some success with a slightly worn green scrubbie, some Bar Keeper's Friend, and some "with the grain" hand scrubbing.

Try it on the back side first, and of course, never inside.

Scott

Comment

At the factory a scotchbrite wheel is used to dress the welds, and provide grain. You can use fine paper as the previous poster recommended. http://www.csunitec.com/sand/surfacefinishing.html makes a nice handheld wide-swath finisher, it will cost you some good money but you might get a deal from a local tool supplier.

You could always get someone from JVNW to come out and do the job.

Oxidation on stainless steel, is it rust? If so I would acid wash them with a soft bristled brush until the rust is gone. Then rinse and return to service.
      Last edited by zbrew2k; 08-19-2005, 02:59 PM.

Comment

Thanks for the replys!

No, it's not rust. Maybe oxidation was the wrong term. It's just a general milky dullness. I've spray foamed it with acid, and caustic. Still dull and scratchy. My boss would never spring for a JVNW guy to come and do something like that, so it's up to me. I'd rather do it myself anyways..

But it is ALOT of surface area. a 15 bbl. system, 4 BT's and 3 Unis, HLT...So I will look into the Portable Surface Finisher idea that I saw on the link. Maybe I can score a used one.