RO water and hoppy ales

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RO water and hoppy ales

Any of you brewers use RO water. I am new to it and am wondering if it is causing my ales to be less ale like. more bitter astringent.
    If so how do you add back the minerals? Do you adjust the water or add it durring the boil. and what at which amounts?

Thanks
    www.Lervig.no

There is a water chemistry calculator right here on probrewer.

I have to RO due to high levels of Sodium (>70ppm).

I add Ca and other minerals back according to the style of beer I am brewing. Each style of beer developed around a certain geographical location. So choose a location and add enough minerals to approximate that water. You can easily find Calcium Chloride, Calcium Sulfate (Gypsum/Terra Alba, chalk), Calcium Hyrdroxide (Lime), Magnesium Sulfate (Epsom Salts), and Sodium Chloride (Salt). There are some preblended brewing salts out there but I havent used them.

Add the minerals to the mash water. They will help you stabilize the mash pH and the Calcium helps with lautering.

A kettle addition of Calcium Sulfate will help precipitate Oxalates. Oxalates help create beer stone later in the process.

The minerals in water are important, and we wouldnt have the great variety of beer styles in this world if it wasnt for so many different water chemistry profiles. After all our beer has an average water content of ~95%. Water is the most important ingredient in beer!

Comment