Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Career Change

Greetings all-

I'm relatively new to this list but have been homebrewing off and on for several years. I am presently an environmental chemist and would like to change careers to become a brewer. I would like to have some advice on things I can do to make myself more marketable and to get a start in the brewing industry.

Recently I had the opportunity to help with the latest batch that was brewed at the local brewpub and I had a great time with that. I guess that experience is what has lead me to wanting to be a brewer. I volunteered and am hoping to help with the next brew that the brewer makes. But in the meantime I'm doing more brewing at home, reading, and listening here and on other lists.

If you have any advice for me please let me know.

Thanks
    clef

My advice is to stay an enviromental chemist! You already make more than you ever will in the brewing industry. Buy a nice homebrewing setup, and brew until your heart is content.

The industry is highly overcrowded. At best you are looking at 7-10$ /hr job for the next 3-5 years before you even got close to a head brewer position. Plus you will have to invest in a brewing course which will take 5-7 thousand $ to be competitive and learn the fundamentals of what it takes to be a good brewer. Even then there is no guarantee of being a successful brewer.

There have been several threads started here with the same question, you can look them up on the search tool.

It doesnt hurt to dream, and maybe you are the next Garret Oliver or Tomme Arthur. Just dont confuse dreams with reality! Everyone starts somewhere. Have a great day & Good luck.

Comment

Changing your life

Clef,