Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Already Behind Before Getting Started

Hello All,
    I am a 21 year old senior at St. Lawrence University in Canton, NY who has become facinated by the brewing industry as im sure all here already are. I first became interested in homebrewing roughly a year ago when I picked up a copy of Radical Brewing by Randy Mosher at Barnes and Noble. I have been homebrewing for about eight months and have already brewed about ten batches using malt extracts from midwest supplies and northern brewer. My question here is, am I already to late to get involved in the brewing industy?

The past year I have read anything I could get my hands on in regards to homebrewing and the brewing industry and I feel as though I am already behind. It seems as though this is a tough industry to get a foot in the door as everybody needing jobs at breweries/brewpubs requires experience. I have been looking into classes at such places as UC Davis and the Siebel Institute but these seem to be expensive in the sense that unless you really know that this is what you want to do you may be wasting your time. For me I feel as though this is what I want to do career wise. As a nieve college student I have fantasized with friends who are currently in cullinary school about opening our own brewpub or microbrewery but obviously I need at least several years of experience if not more to do this thing for real.

I would really like to know what is the best way to go about gaining the knowledge I need in this field to progress to a high level of understanding. Im sure at some point in time all brewers have thought of opening thier own company but the going is rough and the pressures of failure are great. After I gradute this summer I would really like to work at a brewery at any level. Cleaning fermenters, sweeping floors, anything that will get me closer to the brewing process will help my understanding.