Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Probably a stupid question about transfer to bright tank.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Probably a stupid question about transfer to bright tank.

Complete newbie here with a question. I'm looking to get work in a commercial brewery soon, just waiting to hear back from them.

My question is about transferring to bright tanks. Must the bright tank be empty of beer before the next batch of beer can be transferred into the tank or can you top up a half full bright tank and carbonate the whole lot again? I notice that breweries seem to have bright tanks that are much larger than their fermenters.

Or do they empty the bright tank, clean and sanitise it, then transfer fermented beer from a couple of fermenters into the bright tank then carbonate?

Always clean and sanitize before transfer.

Anyone NOT cleaning and sanitizing between BBT fills is cutting corners. I know that some pub breweries with fast turnaround sometimes cut corners and get away with it, but in a packaging setting you would never "top up" your BBT. Ever. And I don't know why anyone would have a BBT larger than their fermenters. You should ask them next time you see it. Best of luck in your new job!
    Phillip Kelm--Palau Brewing Company Manager--

Comment

Yup, what Phillip said.

Prost!
      Dave
      Glacier Brewing Company
      406-883-2595
      info@glacierbrewing.com

"who said what now?"

Comment

Originally posted by gitchegumee View Post
        Anyone NOT cleaning and sanitizing between BBT fills is cutting corners. I know that some pub breweries with fast turnaround sometimes cut corners and get away with it, but in a packaging setting you would never "top up" your BBT. Ever. And I don't know why anyone would have a BBT larger than their fermenters. You should ask them next time you see it. Best of luck in your new job!