PDA

View Full Version : Clamp-on ammeter



TGTimm
07-08-2014, 02:16 PM
I'm looking for a clamp-on, digital ammeter that reads to 1/10 amp. I have an analog and an attachment for my Fluke multimeter, but both only read to 1 amp. None of my catalogs (or online sites) gives the resolution of their ammeters, so I'm hoping one of you can help me out--

Starcat
07-08-2014, 03:26 PM
I carry a Fluke 87 and use an older 80i-400 with it for AC work. It will go in the micro amps range. Their newer current clamps for use with the 87 should also work the same.
This meter will catch and record peak, min and ave. The later generation 80 series are different from the older ones and are more full featured.
I also have a Fluke 337 which I don't care for on the whole. Their product has devolved seriously along with their customer service.

Some of the Extech models look good on paper but I've had issues with their gear being engineered poorly.

TGTimm
07-09-2014, 10:06 AM
Thanks, Warren. I'll look into those. Unfortunately, I already have two Fluke 112 meters, so I was hoping for a less expensive route than buying a new multimeter and clamp. The Fluke clamp I have is the i410, which outputs 1 mv/amp, so can only read to the nearest amp with the meters I have.

I agree about the devolution of Fluke, but it seems to be happening with all consumer products these days.

Starcat
07-09-2014, 06:51 PM
Thanks, Warren. I'll look into those. Unfortunately, I already have two Fluke 112 meters, so I was hoping for a less expensive route than buying a new multimeter and clamp. The Fluke clamp I have is the i410, which outputs 1 mv/amp, so can only read to the nearest amp with the meters I have.

I agree about the devolution of Fluke, but it seems to be happening with all consumer products these days.

Timm,the clamp I have is the older version of the one you have. If you get a meter that will resolve past the decimal point I think you will find it will work. I have always used this one for fractional readings such as VA on 24 VAC control transformers etc. Possibly a factory rep could advise.

TGTimm
07-10-2014, 11:32 AM
Thanks again, Warren. I'll look into a better Fluke meter. Maybe I can trade one of ours toward a newer model--we've done this in the past, but....