Am I crazy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I crazy?

I am a total newb to the world of brewing beer. What I am no stranger to is beer. I am 30 years old and I teach high school English. I have recently taken it upon myself to drum up this crazy idea to start a brewpub in my area, which contains no such business as I write these words.

I am just now getting into home brewing and am very interested in the process. I have been browsing the threads here and was very pleased to see the sense of community and the willingness of so many to help those who post questions, which has led me to post my question in a few minutes. I have searched the previous threads that deal with brewpub particulars, but somehow feel the need to ask for myself….Am I crazy for wanting to start a brewpub, given the collective experience of those who might be reading this? Would the odds be stacked against me from the start? I am not afraid of hard work, long hours and the sort. However, I have no experience in the restaurant business per se, or the brewing business. All I have is a dream, but don’t know if it is just a pipe dream. I am looking for advice on what types of things I should be thinking about and what realities I should come to grips with. Any information that you found pertinent in your experiences would also be greatly appreciated. I think you get my point. I’m just looking for a little direction in this sea of madness. Please advise!

wow!
    Please realize I'm not trying to squash your dream.