Hop Flavor Profile Questions: Citra, Cascade, El Dorado, Medusa

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hop Flavor Profile Questions: Citra, Cascade, El Dorado, Medusa

I'm trying to formulate some new recipes with hops (some) of which I've never used before. I find reading the descriptions they give you online are never what I experience with the hops. For instance, I just recently used Galena as a late hop addition in my IPA, and it gave me a super sweet, white grape taste to the IPA. I'm dumping it.

I"m looking for information on early boil, and late addition's of the following hops, and the impact they will have.

Cascade, late addition (my current batch is very grapefruit), I'm curious about how they are with a dry hop?

Citra: I've read the dry hop is good but diminishes fast.

El Dorado & Medusa, don't know much about this except what I've read online.

Amarillo: I am dry hopping with this at around the rate of .5#'s per bbl, and I"m noticing it gives the beer a "chewyness". Anyone else notice this?

hops

alpha i use galena in a few of my beers never got a white grape flavor out of them i got a nice strait bitterness never really dry hoped with them i dry hop with columbus and get a nice floral/ citres notes from them they seem to give my beer a harsher bitterness when added earky in the boil take a look at falconors flights there a blend of hops and there nice all around the othere hops you metioned seem to be hard to get some time so i havent used a lot of them eaither hope this help
    cheers matt

Comment

My impressions

Cascade- Clean grapefruit and floral as a dry hop/late addition.
      Amarillo- I get a nice pine/floral impression from it
      Citra- Awesome flavor and aroma, loses alot of its luster after carbing and kegging, but not all of it. One of my favorites.

El Dorado/Medusa, never used, just got some el dorado to try.

Comment